Joey’s Moment

Joey and Lily Jo

August 12, 2009 10:40 am

At the hospital. Chelsea is pushing they say. My granddaughter will be here any minute. It is the hardest thing for me to sit in this waiting room and not be a part of my son’s most incredible moment – the birth of his daughter. I want to watch his face, share in his joy, see his tears as he holds his child for the first time. I am so selfish. I was there watching all his firsts and triumphs and I am missing this one. The price of having sons. I’m trying to not imagine what is happening in that room. I sit out here just waiting for him to come get me, so I can hug him and then hold my granddaughter.

Leave a Reply

