Working on Some Backgrounds (Art Journaling)

Well, after making my new art journal (see Spiral Notebook entry), I’ve started creating some backgrounds and foundations for later on. I usually just hear a quote, see an image, or recall a memory that sparks an idea, and I run with it. None of these are complete, but I really enjoy – as I’ve said before – the process. 🙂

I hope something may give you inspiration.

IMG_20130903_162717I used Dylusions ink spray over the whole page. I ink stamped some circles here and there, and then I put a butterfly (cut out from a magazine) on the dry page and painted the whole page with black acrylic paint. While the paint was damp, I pressed some bubble wrap here and there for texture. I then carefully peeled off the butterfly paper and affixed it to another page for later use. Next, I splattered some blue and green acrylic paint over the page. Finally, I used a white gelly pen to journal. I covered the whole thing with matte gel, which smeared my ink…not sure I like that effect.

IMG_20130903_162737I love this one because it kind of looks like my mother when she was young. Acrylic paint, coptic markers for eyes and mouth, white gelly pen for writing.

IMG_20130903_162906 I drew the dancer a few weeks ago when I was thinking about this play I once danced in back in 1980 when I was 17. Watercolor background. Words are on separate watercolor painted with red acrylic and then cut into rectangles. Lettering is black calligraphy pen and white gelly pen.

IMG_20130903_162749Not sure where I am going with this one…still working. Acrylic (hair) and coptic markers with stamping.

IMG_20130903_162810Hmmmm…circles become flowers and then what?? Just let myself get messy and I sort of like the effect…still working. Note on the two bottom flowers that I used many different mediums here. It started as a pencil drawing, then marker, then crayon (Neocolor), then spritzed it with Dylusions ink spray (lemon zest). The ink spray made the Neocolors run and I LOVE THE EFFECT! Will be doing that again!

IMG_20130903_162742

Interesting how sometimes the backgrounds just take their own form. I painted the page with different color acrylics – just let the brush whirl here or there. I came back a day later and realized there appeared to be a palm tree in the upper right corner….so…that is where this one is headed…still working…obviously….

Would love to hear from you!

One thought on “Working on Some Backgrounds (Art Journaling)

Leave a Reply

