Painting Faces (Art Journaling)

My latest kick is faces…I am just astounded at the different versions that emerge. Still trying to learn shading, but I’m not stressing about it too much. No matter how hard I try, the eyes are always big to huge, so I’m just gonna let my hand draw them as they want. 🙂

This face is part what I’ve been thinking about lately (my native american heritage) and part what I saw on another site. The background was made last week…Neocolor crayons spritzed with Dylusions lemon zest to make the colors run. I drew this girl right on top of the background, so much of the greens and yellows are incorporated into her face. Her dress is part of the background. I used mostly acrylic paint and then used Neocolors to fine tune and do the facial features.

I made her eyes blue/green because I am fascinated with the Native Americans in the area that I live (Lumberton, N.C.), the Lumbee Indians. Some of them have the most remarkable blue eyes I have ever seen!

IMG_20130907_0955361

Here is a face that I drew really fast using Neocolor crayons. I just didn’t think about it at all; I just grabbed the crayons and let my hand draw. I was in a bad mood, and I think it is interesting that this face reflects that!

IMG_20130907_0959541

Leave a Reply

