Random Pages (Art Journaling)

I haven’t posted much here lately, but I have been working in my art journal. It is my peace, my safe space. I fight with my inner critic constantly that I am not as good as others, that I am in fact just horrible at this. I bet you do too. I have to remind myself that I don’t do this so that people will say, “Oh! I love your work!” I do it because it calms me. When I truly let go and just draw whatever I want, or rip up magazines and paste all over a page, or splash paint on paper or canvas, I feel at peace with myself. And that is all that matters.

Here are random ‘peaceful’ moments that I carved out of the busy month of November. I expect less in December, but I will still try to at the very least do some sketching for later use in the new year. Some of these are finished; some of them are backgrounds for later journaling.

I hope you are enjoying the holiday season. Take time to nurture yourself, create something – anything, and BE PEACEFUL!

Karen

DSCN0529[1]

 

Collage – acrylics, marker, cut out paper, washi tape, stamping

DSCN0526[1]

Acrylic, cardstock cutout and marker

DSCN0536[1]

DSCN0533[1]

Neocolor crayon spritzed with water, marker

DSCN0532[1]

DSCN0530[1]

 

Stamps from Unity, Neocolor crayon

DSCN0531[1]

A bit of everything! Magazine cutouts, washi tape, markers, acrylics, stamps

DSCN05412

Background is washed out Neocolor crayon, Zig pen markers, picture of my granddaughter

DSCN0541[1]

DSCN0538[1]

 

Neocolor crayon and marker

DSCN0549[1]

 

Neocolor crayon spritzed with water (I LOVE this technique!)

DSCN0550[1]

DSCN0547[1]

 

Acrylic paint, marker, and some flower doo-dads

DSCN0546[1]

Neocolor crayon and stamping. The girl is a cutout that I pasted on with gel medium.

DSCN0543[1]

Almost all acrylic paint and stamping.

DSCN0543[2]

DSCN0539[1]

 

Acrylic paint and markers. The girl is a cutout that I drew in my sketchbook. Her dress is cardstock.

DSCN0540[1]

DSCN0537[1]

 

Acrylic, cut out girl (not painted yet). This is a page I will journal on later.

DSCN0551[1]Laid up with a hurting back. Just doodling while resting on the couch with a heating pad. Can’t wait to color it in while watching television. 🙂

Leave a Reply

